Skip to main content
Photograph of small colourful cube-shaped blocks

Approved learning frameworks

Approved learning frameworks

Education and care services covered by the National Quality Framework must provide a program based on an approved learning framework.

The approved learning frameworks provide guidance to develop quality programs that support children's learning. They focus on outcomes for children and recognise that children learn from birth. They also consider the developmental needs, interests and experiences of each child and take into account their individual differences.

What is an approved learning framework?

Approved learning frameworks are the frameworks named in the National Regulations. There are two national approved learning frameworks and four state or territory specific approved learning frameworks.

The national approved learning frameworks are:

The other approved learning frameworks under the National Quality Framework include:

What is the link between the National Quality Standard and the approved learning frameworks?

The approved provider and nominated supervisor of an education and care service are responsible for ensuring that a suitable program based on an approved learning framework is delivered to all children. This requirement is incorporated into the first standard of Quality Area 1: Educational program and practice.

Adapted from

Belonging, Being and Becoming: The Early Years Learning Framework for Australia, Commonwealth of Australia, 2009

'Guide 1: Guide to the National Quality Framework', National Quality Framework Resource Kit, Australian Children's Education and Care Quality Authority, 2013

My Time, Our Place: Framework for School Age Care in Australia, Commonwealth of Australia, 2011


  • National Quality Framework: National Quality Framework for Early Childhood Education and Care
  • National Quality Standard: National Quality Standard for Early Childhood Education and Care and School Age Care
  • National Regulations: Education and Care Services National Regulations
Supported by the Australian Government.
© 2016 Commonwealth of Australia, unless otherwise indicated
Supported by the Australian Government.
© 2016 Commonwealth of Australia,unless otherwise indicated